UK: +44 (0) 20 3922 1222 / AUSTRALIA: +61 (0) 2 9053 9703
Select Page

Last weekend an event at home inspired me to write this blog post.

It’s worth noting that although this post discusses OneDrive, the principles here cover all documents stored in Microsoft 365 including SharePoint, we’ve posted before about how OneDrive and SharePoint are essentially the same product.

My step daughter’s school use Microsoft 365 and she was, on Sunday afternoon, writing a story for her English homework.

She had been working away in the corner of the living room for around an hour, happily typing her story into a Word online document sitting in her OneDrive.

I then hear her let out a scream as all of the content in her document had disappeared, I believe that somehow she had selected all of the text in the document and wiped it out with what she was typing at the time.

She panicked and hit the back button in the browser but of course, this made no difference, all of her hard work was gone.

Well it turns out I know a thing or two about mMicrosoft 365 so it was Marc to the rescue!

Documents stored in OneDrive and SharePoint save automatically which is a great feature, you may not know however that they are also version controlled so it is possible to go back to a previous version.

To access version history click the 3 dots menu to the right of your document and select Version history

You will then see a full list of versions along with their save date and time.
You can then choose to Delete that version (don’t do this, there are very few cases where you should ever delete and old version, it’s there for your protection)!

You can choose to download it if you wish and look at the file offline or you can choose to restore a particular version.

So in my example from the weekend, I was able to look at the version history of my step daughter’s word document, select the version modified a few moments before and then restore it, therefore preventing her from losing an hour’s worth of work (and also, a complete melt down).

The restore process for SharePoint is essentially the same although the menu is slightly different with the download option replace with view, yes they are essentially the same product but there are small differences and yes, that sometimes frustrates us too.

I hope you’ve found this short post useful, if something like this does happen to you don’t panic, Microsoft actually make it pretty difficult to permanently delete anything.

If you’d like any assistance with any aspect of Microsoft 365 then do get in touch, the team would love to hear from you.

Related Content